Senate Judiciary Committee Hearing for Five Nominees

The Senate Judiciary Committee held a confirmation hearing last Thursday for Andrew Hurwitz to the United States Circuit Court for the Ninth Circuit and for Kristine Baker, John Lee, John Tharp, Jr., and George Russell III to United States District Court seats in the Eastern District of Arkansas, the Northern District of Illinois, the Northern District of Illinois, and the District of Maryland, respectively.

Senator Durbin (D-IL) chaired the hearing and Senator Kyl (R-AZ) attended as well. The hearing was uneventful, with Senators Durbin and Kyl both congratulating the nominees on their nominations and wishing them well.

Four of the five seats which the nominees will fill if confirmed have been deemed judicial emergencies by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.

For the most accurate, up-to-date information on the judicial selection process, visit the Alliance for Justice’s Judicial Selection page.