4 Nominees Scheduled for Consideration Today

The Senate Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider 4 District Court nominees today:
  • Kristine Baker (Eastern District of Arkansas)
  • John Lee (Northern District of Illinois)
  • John Tharp, Jr. (Northern District of Illinois)
  • George Russell (District of Maryland)

During the Obama presidency, it has been the habit of Republican senators on the judiciary committee to automatically delay every first-time consideration of nominees by one week, so it is likely that the committee will not be permitted to hold votes on these four nominees today.

Lee, Tharp, and Russell have all been nominated to seats that are considered to be judicial emergencies.