Senate Confirms Four Nominees to District Court Seats

Last night, the Senate confirmed the following to be United States District Court judges: Edgardo Ramos in the Southern District of New York; Andrew L. Carter, Jr. in the Southern District of New York; James Rodney Gilstrap in the Eastern District of Texas; and Dana L. Christensen in the District of Montana.

Judge Ramos was confirmed by a bipartisan vote of 89-0. The other three judges were confirmed by unanimous voice vote.

It has taken an average of 205 days for the four nominees to move through the Senate confirmation process, with Judge Gilstrap waiting 201 days to be confirmed to fill his judicial emergency seat in Texas.

The Senate’s action leaves 21 other judicial nominees waiting on the floor for their confirmation votes, 19 of whom were reported out of committee either unanimously or with strong bipartisan support.